Porch cats

The kids lovelovelove the new screened in deck! Eric’s parents came to help us build it in the spring (I didn’t do a whole lot. I stained lots of the wood and held things in place while they did the building part.) so we and the kitties could have a nice ‘indoors’ outdoors.

For our NW home, the screened porch is ideal. In the summer, the clear/white tarp roof lets in the light, but keeps off direct sun and the many leaves and branches of the giant willow and the rest of the year it will keep out the rain (or snow!) and let us enjoy the outdoors and the view of our lovely yard.

Of course, it lets the bb’s get a taste of outside without endangering them. We live near a relatively busy street where young men with barely-muffled cars barrel ruthlessly up/down the hill at all hours. There are neighbor cats and dogs around and *raccoons, too. These other creatures can’t get in and the cats can’t get out because we used a special super-strong screen.

We recently bought a table and chair set that was on a fabulous sale at Fred Meyer and have enjoyed a few meals at it, so far. The cats like it, too; comfy chairs for lounging πŸ™‚

* Side note! While in Oregon visiting family, we saw a man bringing his two dachshunds to his van. He carried the smaller one and called for the larger. I watched as he covered one in kisses. Then, I noticed a grey and black tail. I looked closer and asked, “Is that a raccoon?!” It was! A bb raccoon!! Too precious. I got pics…

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Porch cats

  1. catfest says:

    Thanks, Ma’m πŸ˜‰

  2. Lacy says:

    Love the pictures πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

