Trimming claws

Ah, the trimming of cat claws! Such an ordeal! Every few weeks/months, I get a good scratch from one of the kids. Or the floor gets one. Hardwoods. Then, my husband and I set aside half an hour for the claw trimming duty. We have a pair of trimmers, little tiny scissors with curved blades made to cut kitty claws. We each put a couch pillow on the floor for comfort and grab the nearest cat. One of us is Holder and the other is Trimmer. I learned that you hold the trimmers so the blades cut by squeezing the claw from the sides, but Eric trims them with the blades at the top and bottom. I thought that the sideways way would help to not cause splitting. I’m gonna have to look that up!

Freckle is usually ok with the whole thing, though he gets annoyed when I trim the back feet. He looks at me and starts to ‘say’ things by then. He likes to be on his stomach while I hold the front paws and I try to get his feet while he’s in the same position, but if he starts to get antsy, we have to flip him up to a sort of human sitting position and I get them that way. All the rest get the sitting position. It’s prime not-getting-away placement.

Peter and Ella can be a little wiggly, but they hide their faces in our arms and it comforts them enough to be still! So cute and sad!

Felix used to be good, but he’s turned out to be the most stubborn, screaming beast of all! Wiggle, howl, squirm! This is why it takes two of us to trim claws.

Isabelle used to be a super-squirmer, but she’s even allowed me to trim her claws by myself!

Oh, Violet. She criiiiies! She lets me get a claw ready (have to find it under her furry, furry paws) and get the scissors close and then, she jerks and cries and I think I’ve killed her. She’s fine, of course, but it scares us both. I think I cut too close once, long ago and she’s still afraid. I’m sorry, baby girl! But, please, be still!

After trimming duty, we brush off our pants and the pillows and get to sweep up the piles of little kitty needles all over the floor. Whew, another few weeks/months without worrying about this!

The last time V needed a claw trim, we put it off for too long and this happened:

OW!!!

She has very long fur and little ‘pantaloons’ where, sometimes, she has trouble clearing everything to the catbox. Recently, that happened and I caught her before she could go mess up the couch/blankets. I picked her up and turned her end to the sink. She did NOT like that. She held my left shoulder with Full Claw Action. Both paws. I think she sunk them in all the way. Good gravy, that hurt! And, of course she put holes in my shirt :/

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

