The Frisk

For the past week, Freckle’s been getting into everything. He’s knocked things off the counter, eaten my cereal, attacked the recycling bag, howled for more food at all non-meal times and generally been a pest.

Last night, I got out the Wire. Not to beat him with. The wire is his favorite toy. It’s, quite simply, a piece of wire with a little piece of stiff twine on each end; one for me to hold onto and one for him to Get! (The above photo shows similar friskiness, but with a shoelace.)

He Loves this thing. I got one when I got him. I was told it was a hit with cats, but really, it is the toy. I say, “Freckle, want to play?” and I start whipping the wire in a circle. It makes a great noise! Freckle zeroes in, his eyes get big and black and his whiskers come to attention…Bite! “You, get it!” I say, and he rolls onto his back, feet kicking, paws swiping, chewing on the twiney end of the wire. I grab it away, swing it around wildly, then dangle it near him again, “Get it!”

While he chews, I take the opportunity to steal some rare Freckle tummy rubs. His soft, white tummy fur is irresistible!

Here he is on one occasion just after attacking the bag of rice. I’m sure the rice had it coming.

Black & white on rice

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Frisk

  1. Peggy and Rich says:

    Didn’t he pee in our suitcase when we visited?

Leave a Reply

