Cats On Drugs

I went to Costco to get Pete’s pills. Why, you ask, is Pete on drugs? He takes one to lower his blood pressure and Prozac for anti-anxiety. The Prozac helps with the blood pressure, too, because it keeps him calm. Back in November of 2009, as far as my records show, Peter was acting strangely. He has always been shy and slinky, but he was also peeing in inappropriate places. Having been through feline urine crystal trouble before, I worried that something like that was wrong with my Pete. I took him to the vet and they did urine and blood tests. I think they did find some urine crystals (this was almost a year ago, so I don’t remember the details), but something made them do an x-ray. They found a tumor. More tests seemed to point to one of two incurable options.

The tumor is near or in amongst blood vessels, so is inoperable because if the doctor nicked a blood vessel, Peter could bleed to death. It may be benign, but it could be the worse of the two problems and the tumor could burst and kill him. So, I opted to get him the daily pills that keep his high blood pressure normal, which decreases the odds of bursting the vessels/tumor and the twice-daily pills which keep him more relaxed and therefore alive. And happy, I hope. Poor Pete had to have his whole tummy shaved for the x-ray. He hasn’t grown the fur back at all, really, beyond some peach fuzz. It is a kissable little pink tummy, though 🙂

He seems to be doing ok; steady. But, I don’t know if I’m seeing a distension in his belly on the right side. Maybe he’s eating too much, but maybe it’s the tumor growing. Maybe it’s something else, but I don’t know. It’s been since June that he’s been to the vet, so I think it’s time for another checkup.

Pete’s my big head-butter (though the cracks have been less brain-jangling this year. Kind of nice, but I wonder if he’s feeling less than excellent) and I always smile when he wags his stumpy little tail 🙂 I love my Pete!

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

