Results Pt. 2

I left both Freckle and Peter at the vet for the day, because Peter needed to have blood taken and another ultrasound. The dr. felt something in Pete’s abdomen and he seemed tender in his belly. The tenderness, dr. thought, was from “adhesions” which make his organs kind of stick together. I imagine it’s like what makes a massage hurt when fascia sticks and pulls when you’re dehydrated or something. Like on my leg. But, I don’t have a tumor.

Dr. D said she’d be out the next day, but would call me the day after that to tell me the test results.

She called early Wednesday evening while I was at a store doing my candy merchandising. I was in the back storage area at the time and someone was using the box-crushing machine, so I went into the store, but whenever someone used the speaker, “clean-up on aisle six”, it was just as loud. I stood in the little hallway between the two and plugged one ear, trying to hear all the details.

She started with Freckle’s results: In the small urine sample he left in the cage, lab tests found “ambiguous crystals” which could be urine crystals, which he’s had before, or not. Awesome. Dr. D suggested three options: #1, pain med., for if he’s in pain from crystals, #2 Prozac, if something has changed and he’s acting out, #3 antibiotics, for ridding him of any urine crystals.

I didn’t feel it was really a behavioral issue in that nothing has changed recently. Work schedules are about the same, no new cats, same  diet… I did think he might be sensing Pete’s problems, but I don’t feel that calls for Freckle to be Prozac-ed. So, I thought about the most likely thing,  asked dr’s opinion (and the prices) and opted for #1(no pun intended!). I chose the pain pills partly because they were the cheapest option and partly because dr. D said that would help with him to pass crystals, if he had them, and, of course, stop or reduce any pain he was/is in, then he’d stop peeing on things. (Also, I just need to clean the stupid boxes more often, so they have a clean bathroom. Urrgh, such a pain :P)

So, that’s Freckle… Peter’s results were not so simple.

To Be Continued…

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Results Pt. 2

  1. Peggy and Rich says:

    According to our vet, the one that operated, fish and its byproducts are the main cause of urinary crystals in male cats. It’s been 0ver 10 years since fish was eliminated and no problems with the current crew. Sometimes determining that a product does not have any fish takes reading a lot of very fine print.

  2. Peggy and Rich says:

    Bailey, a large white male from the previous generation, had a bad case of crystals that could only be cured by a urethra rerouting after other procedures did not work. It was pricey but gave him about 2 more years with us. Now we only use food without fish and specifically for urinary health. The vet sells the Rx variety, but the same food is sold as Purina One UR formula. The current family is crystal free.

    • catfest says:

      Odd, I can’t read the rest of your comment here, but got it in my email. Anyway, why do you not feed your cats food with fish? Does that cause crystals? I usually get them fish because if I have to choose something o be killed to feed them, I think that fish death (suffocation) seems more ‘humane’ than being bashed in the head or sliced open. Writing this makes me think, though…

Leave a Reply

