Cat Pills & Bribery

Peter takes his pills unknowingly, in a chunk of ‘licious (prescription) canned food. He gulps it down so fast, he doesn’t realize what’s in it! I’m so grateful for that. I used to roll a little shredded cheese into a ball with the pill inside, but when he chewed, it would break apart and left the pill exposed. Once he had tasted the bitterness, he wouldn’t eat it. Neither of these options works with Freckle.

I tried the cheese, but he broke his cheeseball apart just once and wouldn’t eat the pill. He ate the food around it and left the pill. I tried the canned food and though he loooooves canned food, he was extremely cautious about the bite I gave him with the pill in it. I tried again, but, no way! He spits it out. He KnOwS! He’s too smart.

Now, Freckle gets the pill popper, then a canned-food treat right after. They all get a bit o’ the can after I give Peter the first bite-with-pill. The anticipation of their own treats let them leave Pete alone. Freckle doesn’t get his anymore until after he’s had his own pill.

First, I pill Pete (with the food). Felix is usually first in line for a treat (besides Freckle, who’s been put to the back of the list), then Isabelle. She likes to wait on her ‘perch’; the narrow counter where we keep the mail. Violet and Ella get treats next. It depends on who’s ready. Ella likes to eat hers in her bowl which is separate from the others cuz she’s a shy girl. Violet sometimes waits for me on the couch, as if waiting like a Roman Princess to be fed her “grapes”. Sometimes, she waits on a dining room chair. She lets me know if she’s close by, “Aooooww!”

Freckle’s starting to catch on and being a ‘good boy’, taking his pill sort of quickly and not squirming/crying too much. I think it’s because he knows he gets his reward right afterward.

Daddy’s going to have to do the pill patrol for a few days while I visit my grandma in Florida for her birthday. I hope it goes well for him!

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cat Pills & Bribery

  1. Peggy and Rich says:

    Found samples of “Greenies Pill Pockets” last time at the vet. A small, chewy morsel with a hole in the middle to hid the pill. Haven’t tried it ourselves, but vet has had success. Downside – not vegan.

  2. Lacy says:

    Violet the Roman Princess….love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

