Conehead

Peter’s a conehead! Well, he was for a week. I haven’t posted for a while (procrastinator!), so you’ll be happy to know that all is well on the abscess front.

Peter had an abscess that wouldn’t heal. I finally took him into the vet and they had to put a drain in. The problem was that the hole was pointed down. It would fill up, but not drain easily. Dr. L said Pete should be fine after it drained and he took some antibiotics. She sent me home with some syringes (no needles) with pain medication to squirt onto Pete’s gums, antibiotics, a fabric cone for his head (so he wouldn’t lick the wounds and pull on the stitches and tube) and a $268 bill for the surgery and all. Joy. But, that whole drain insertion business I could not have done! Dr. L. said I should come back in to have the drain removed in 3-5 days; Friday or Monday. (Now, I could REALLY use a decent-paying job!!)

Peter was SO good! The tech called him “stoic”! I’m so proud 🙂 He doesn’t cry, he doesn’t scratch or struggle. He sometimes hides his head under a hand or arm, but he’s no trouble at all. Sweet little man. He even went back into the travel box easily. He still nosed me through the box’s holes, too.

I brought him inside and put his new little hat on. He was still for that, too.  I tied it not too tight, but not so loose that it would slide around or let him pull it off. The other cats sniffed him and left him alone. Maybe it made him looker bigger and scary. Isabelle stared.

I gave him his big blue antibiotic pills chopped up in his canned food with his other pills. He ate it all up as usual. No problem! I gave him the pain med along his gums twice daily until they were gone. He tried to back up away from me cuz he was concerned with what I was doing, but it was always quick and pretty easy. I also wiped the ‘liquids’ from his wounds and kept them clean with a warm compress and put on a glove and smoothed some Neosporin over his wounds twice daily.

Poor conehead began to shake his head occasionally and I’d hear it ‘flappity flappity flappity’. It must have been annoying to have that thing on his head for three days. Peripheral vision was lost and he’d slide against the walls as though he had to follow them to find his way! We left the door to the catfood and catbox rooms open, though it makes the house colder when we do, so he wouldn’t have to try to use the cat door during his Invalid stage.

I have to admit, he looked adorable in his little hat and it made me laugh! I did feel bad about laughing at my Pete. I hope he didn’t take it personally.

Day four, Saturday: I fed the cats downstairs and on my way up, saw a rubber tube. Uh-oh! I looked at Pete. Yep, he had somehow removed that drain tube even though he had his bonnet on and the drain was stitched in! Ow! Poor kitty.

At that point, I didn’t think he needed to be a conehead anymore. He seemed very pleased to have his ‘eyes’ back; however, I had to put the hat back on cuz he was still licking after I put the Neosporin on him. Yuck.

Today, Pete is cone-free and so bald! His wounds are looking much better and he’s not leaking all over. We still have the “pus blanket” on the couch to protect it (just from the ointment, now). It’ll get washed soon, hallelujah!

Pete looks annoyed here :/

Pete’s catching some rays 😛

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conehead

  1. Lacy says:

    Poor sweet little conehead. Glad he’s doing better 😀

Leave a Reply

