Conehead Revisited: Return of the Ooze

Peter exploded. That is, his newest lump turned out to be an abscess and kaboom. Again. I guess I knew it was coming because just like last time, the day before the ‘dam burst’ I said to Eric that I thought it was time to fix it. Part of me is glad to not have to do that, but I’m also sad for Pete, cuz I think it must hurt when that happens!

I’ve been taking care of my little Pumpkin Pie all day. Cleaning him up (and the blankets), squeezing out the ick, cleaning him up some more… I had to put his conehead hat back on to keep him from licking the wound. Actually, that doesn’t work, but it does confuse the other cats enough to leave him alone and let him heal. It’s funny; they’ll sniff him and walk away instead of swatting at him. Maybe it makes him look bigger and scarier. Maybe it just smells funny. Maybe they realize something is different and he’s “sick”.

I spent a lot of time with the odorous ooze today and tried to be gentle and keep Peter calm. He cried out a few times. I stopped when he did and pet him and kissed him and told him I was sorry, but wanted to help. In the end, he headbutted me with love!

I love my Pete-Pete so much! He’s such a sweet soul. I hope the vet will let me just get some antibiotics and not have to go in for more surgery to put in a drainage tube. It was quite expensive and I have my own giant expenses coming through right now. I will be cleaning Pete’s wound and flushing it as much as I can as often as I can, so I think a bottle of anti-b’s would do the trick! Right?

Pete seems in good spirits, for the most part, and that makes me happy 🙂

P.s. Just look at those little toes!! 😛

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conehead Revisited: Return of the Ooze

  1. Erin McAdams says:

    poor little petey! i thought you were going to say that he had died when, at the start of the blog, you said he exploded! i hope he gets better soon! (and you too!)

  2. Lacy says:

    Awww, sweet lit punkin pie….i hope petey gets better SOON!!! (ur such a good mommy)

Leave a Reply

