What’s Up, Doc?

Peter is on the mend! Just thought I’d start there. Dr. L. did forgo the usual vet visit (I think because she knows how traumatizing it is for Pete, besides the fact that he’d just come in with an abscess) and gave me antibiotics with the directions to come in if Pete wasn’t getting better.

I gave him the blue pills twice a day along with his other medications, chopped up and mixed into canned prescription food. Yes, this boy is high-maintenance! He ate them all up, as usual with his silly hat getting in the way, at times.

I’d already noticed he is wider than he used to be. Not fat, but wide, from the tumor(s). This was confirmed in a previous vet visit. Pete was tired, for days and once, while squeegee/petting the pus from the wound, I felt a hardness in his tummy. I gasped. “Oh, no,” I thought, “is this it? Has the cancer grown so much, so quickly?” I was scurred cuz he was so lethargic and was full of pus and had a tummy lump.

I cried that night and in the morning before I took him to the vet, thinking it may be the last day for my Pete. It turns out he was only lethargic because he was recovering from the abscess and I was doing the right thing to help heal it. And the tummy lump I found wasn’t really a new lump at all! It was just fat! Fat! I guess, the way he had been lying had made it feel like there was a lump. Such a relief!

Dr. L. gave me chlorhexidine, an antiseptic, to wash over the wound twice a day just to be extra sure it would heal well. So, I took my sweet boy home and took care of him for the next week, just as I had been, plus the antiseptic.

Peter perked up and ambles through the house with his folded-tail upright! It makes me smile. The others are back to swatting at him, which is bad cuz he could get another abscess (though we did trim all claws when Pete came back home), but it means he’s back to healthy. I can’t help but give him extra love, cuz I’m so happy to have my boy with me 🙂

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Up, Doc?

  1. Lacy says:

    Such good news about Pete!!!! What a relief. He’s such a handsome boy in that picture.

Leave a Reply

