Tofu Chocolate Pudding! Yeah, Tofu!!

I have to give credit to Sarah Kramer and Tanya Barnard, the authors of the vegan cookbook, “The Garden of Vegan”, for this fabulous recipe!

On a whim, a coworker (from an old job) and I went to a book-signing in Seattle at the UW. (You can see my receipt-as-bookmark in the photo; I recycle!) It was June of 2003. I don’t know what made me want to go, but we did! The authors were there (at least Sarah was, she signed my book) and they had made a recipe from the new cookbook called, “The Most Amazing Chocolate Pudding”. It is! But, I didn’t know it, at first.

We listened as they talked about the new book and afterward, we went up to check out the samples. Tofu pudding?! Eww!  But, I had a friend there and we had the support of each other to try something new even though it sounded awful. Then, I tasted it. Wow! Delicious! So chocolatey! So rich! I bought the cookbook and had Sarah sign it. Now, it’s the recipe I make most from that book!

I asked permission to share this wonderful treat and she said Yes! So, here it is the easiest recipe for the best and healthy treat, “The Most Amazing Chocolate Pudding”:

One 12 oz. package of soft or silken tofu
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 cup dry sweetener
½ cup cocoa powder
¼ tsp. salt

In a blender or food processor, blend tofu until smooth. Add the oil, sweetener, cocoa powder and salt. Blend until well mixed. Serve chilled. Makes approx. 1 ½ cups.

You can probably use canola oil or any cooking oil instead of olive, if you want. Sometimes, we top the pudding with some Soyatoo whipped (soy or rice) cream for a vegan flourish 🙂  http://www.soyatoo.de/us/?home  [I prefer the spray kind. I tried the make-your-own from the box kind, but it didn’t taste as good and it was really liquidy.]

If you make this recipe, please let me know what you think!

And if you love it, or are interested in more like this, please visit Sarah Kramer’s website: www.GoVegan.net

About catfest

I adore cats. I like most animals, really, but I've always had cats in my life. They've been my friends, my brothers and sisters and now, my kids. Other than squealing about the adorability of my sweet, sweet children, I like to write (type), edit, paint and watch tv and movies with my awesome husband. I hope you like my 'blog! Smileys!
This entry was posted in Veg Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tofu Chocolate Pudding! Yeah, Tofu!!

  1. jody says:

    I just made this and the taste is wonderful. I could have cut back on the sugar a bit> I used organic sugar and I added a bit of vanilla. I also used grapeseed oil instead of olive. I suppose you could leave the oil out. Very versatile recipe. I see other possibilities.

    • catfest says:

      I’m so glad you tried it! And liked it! I think an oil other than olive would be better and I can add vanilla to just about anything. I always add at least double whatever a recipe calls for! I like sweet, so I’m pretty happy with the amount of sugar. Of course, you could cut back on the sugar and then top it with a whipped ‘cream’ of your choice, too 😉

Leave a Reply

